Victoria honours community leaders

The achievements of ten Aboriginal leaders have received official recognition from the Victorian Government.

The ten have been inducted into the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll and their stories will be on permanent display in the Victorian Parliament.

The roll celebrates the achievements of Aboriginal people, past and present.

The 10 inductees include a leader who strived to maintain Aboriginal culture and identity during Victoria’s colonial period and advocates for social justice.

They are Gwen Atkinson, John Baxter, Angela Clarke, Frances Gallagher, Clara Luttrell-Garisau (1933-1999), Judy Jackson, Mary Jane Gunyuk Milawa (1830-1888), Pamela Pedersen, Glen Peters (1951-2015) and Barbara Walker (1927-2012).

“Every inductee has strived to make their community a stronger and fairer place — they deserve our respect, gratitude and recognition,” Victorian Aboriginal Affairs Minister Natalie Hutchins said.

The post Victoria honours community leaders appeared first on National Indigenous Times.