Maggies swoop on Marra Worra Worra Cup

The mighty Junjuwa Magpies – sponsored by the National Indigenous Times – have hung on by just two points to beat the Bayulu Bulldogs in a cliff-hanger and win this year’s Marra Worra Worra Cup.

In front of a bumper crowd, the “Maggies” managed to hang on to win the Central Kimberley Football League’s most sought-after trophy, with several young stars making a huge mark on the end result.

The Magpies (10-8 68) kept the Bulldogs (10-6 66) in check for the final minutes of the game in what observers said was the most exciting grand final in years.

For the Magpies, Tyrell Brown kicked three majors, Paul Bin Busu and Milton Rogers two each, while Bo James, Adam Bin Busu and Delanie Stevens each contributed with one goal a piece.

For the Doggies, it was Hayden Smith (four majors) and Shamus Smith (three) who led the fight back, along with Jamin Bent, Jons Jangarri and Clifford Smiler (one each) who lifted their team to within a whisker of victory.

Best for the Magpies was Tyrell Brown, who won the Manado Medal, Jamal McCarthy, Scott Bedford and Paul and Adam Bin Busu, while for the Bulldogs Jamin Bent, Javis Dick, Isiah Rogers and Seimon Smith were superb.

Hayden Smith was judged MVP for the Bulldogs.

Junjuwa celebrations went on well into the night and it was agreed that the standard of football from both sides was extraordinary.

Along with the National Indigenous Times, Marra Worra Worra Aboriginal Corporation in Fitzroy Crossing is proud to sponsor the cup and will continue to play a leading role in encouraging sporting participation and the healthy lifestyle of young people across the Kimberley.

Tony Barrass, publisher,


The post Maggies swoop on Marra Worra Worra Cup appeared first on National Indigenous Times.